Help

loading...

Article

  • Nadal takes on Klizan in French Open second round

    5/30/13 4:27 AM | Cheryl Murray
    Nadal takes on Klizan in French Open second round Rafael Nadal, on Suzanne Lenglen Court for the first time this fortnight, will take on Martin Klizan for a spot in the third round.

    This will be the first-ever meeting between Rafael Nadal and Martin Klizan of Slovakia. The defending French Open champion comes into the second round off a tricky first round match against an inspired Daniel Brands, who managed to take the first set from Nadal.

    Klizan is ranked 35th in the world, but he's generally had a disappointing 2013 so far, posting a 6-13 record coming into this tournament; three of those wins came in Casablanca where he made the semifinals.

    Nadal already surrendered a set this tournament, but by the end of the match, he was playing his normal aggressive clay-court tennis.

    Klizan has had a few good results on clay, but he hasn't played anyone near Nadal's caliber. The Spaniard should sail through in straight sets.

    Find the latest tennis odds at Unibet.com

Tell a friend »

Comments

Vamosssss Rafa.

gr8nadal , 5/30/13 4:46 AM


RT @bgtennisnation: "Today is going to be the last rough weather day 80% chance of Rain for most of day, then looks good wih no rain for the next 5 days "

Does this tally with the weather forecast up there, ed251137?

Vamos Rafa!!

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 7:40 AM


I said in a different post I am warming to Fed and here's why:

http://goo.gl/uaKHe

"Roger Federer has witnessed Rafael Nadal?s transition from a boy to a man. On Wednesday at Roland Garros, the Swiss reflected on the growth in his rival?s game from their first meeting in 2004, when Nadal was 17 years of age.

?Well, he is more or less still the same player,? shared the 31-year-old Federer, ?because when you come on the tour for the first time, you already have your own basis. So your strengths will remain your strengths and your weaknesses will remain your weaknesses, although you can improve them.

?I believe Rafa improved in both. His strengths are even better now and his weaknesses are better, although they're still not as good as his strengths. Of course also he's fitter. He's no longer a young boy. He's a man now. He has experience on top of that. So he really improved. It's spectacular and the results are there to show, to prove it.?

?It's amazing how successful he is and how he brings it every single match, and he can really enjoy utmost respect [from] all the players for what he has achieved, not only just on clay. He is still stapled off as the clay court guy which he clearly is not anymore.?

#GOATOpinionMatters
#Vamos

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 7:49 AM


Vamos

rafaelo , 5/30/13 8:03 AM


Rafans, are you ready for another rough road kind of trip today? Warning though for those having asthma and weak heart to not to join the trip today. However, if you insist still, better consult first your doctor if you are healthy enough for a possible turbulence trip.

Raindrops , 5/30/13 9:42 AM




#Vamos Rafa

nadline , 5/30/13 9:49 AM


I have a big big cupboard here in the office behind which I can easily hide if needed.

Vamos Rafa!!

Shireling , 5/30/13 10:07 AM


Federer has finally accepted what's been obvious to many for a long time, that Rafa is a force to be reckoned with on any surface. BG saying that Nole is the most versatile player ought to take a look at the facts and realise that Nole has only made the
and RG finals once, compared to Rafa who has made the Wimbledon final 5 times and the RG final 8 times, winning it 7 times.

Rafa beat Nole down as an all rounder, hands down.

nadline , 5/30/13 10:24 AM


corr

Nole has only made the RG and Wimbledon finals once.

nadline , 5/30/13 10:26 AM


@nadline, the way I look at it is this: people are entitled to their opinions and BG is certainly entitled to his. However, people are NOT entitled to their own facts, and Rafa's record on ALL surfaces is a fact. The thing about facts is, they do not change to suit people or their opinions, that, is the beauty of facts. As you point out, I am sure there was a time Federer refused to accept the obvious, i.e. facts about Rafa's all-court game but it's him who has had to come round, not the facts.

Credit to The Fed though for "manning up" and stating the obvious! And if there is one thing one can never accuse the Fed of doing, it's sugar-coating!

Federer has the credentials, on court, to back up his opinions so I'll take his over anybody's as far as the subject of Rafa's game (apart from Rafa himself) is concerned, thank you very much.

I am not offering an opinion on other players, mind, not interested.

The other thing which for me, consolidates Federer's assertions is the double Channel Slam Rafa has to his name. Folks, we are talking about turning around and adjusting, within a matter of weeks, from one surface to another! And Rafa is the only current player to have done that, TWICE. As I've said before, I am not a native English speaker but isn't successfully doing the Channel Slam twice the exact epitome of versatility? Native English speakers out there, I defer to your interpretation of the word.

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 11:02 AM


.......but of course they slowed down the grass to suit Rafa....
........and the grass is now clay..........
........clay is not important, it's HC that matter...........

No worries, like Federer, the naysayers will also come round. One day.

Vamos Rafa!! Give us a good show today.

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 11:12 AM


I think many commentators know full well that Rafa is the only one who can be mentioned in the same sentence as a great player with Federer so they do their best to talk him down. Djoker is not yet in that league so they can afford to heap praise on him.

nadline , 5/30/13 11:13 AM


The whole of France, apart from the Riviera, is under rain right now. But it is due to ease off in the afternoon but still subject to showers. After that we are due for what will feel like a heatwave is forecast.

http://preview.tinyurl.com/cd9f9e6

Looking ahead to the final weekend thunderstorms are shown but with a 10 day forecast it can change. Let's hope they happen later rather than sooner

ed251137 , 5/30/13 11:16 AM


Thankfully, Rafa is not interested in chasing records or declaring himself a great. I have no doubt he will continue with this attitude which has served him so well so far. There is more to come from that young man........

Stay healthy Rafa. Vamos!!

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 11:17 AM


Thanks for the weather heads-up, ed251137, at least there is some live tennis taking place right now.........

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 11:19 AM


nadline and I DO share some things....
Come on Rafa- giant slayer extraordinaire :)

deuce , 5/30/13 11:26 AM


deuce, you and I got diverted in opposite directions from our previous lives; maybe, one day you will see the light and become a Rafan. It's unbelievable how we were so on the same sides in years gone by and now............. If there was no Rafa, I suppose I would kind of support Murray purely for patriotic reasons.

nadline , 5/30/13 11:43 AM


deuce, you and I got diverted in opposite directions from our previous lives; maybe, one day you will see the light and become a Rafan. It's unbelievable how we were so on the same sides in years gone by and now............. If there was no Rafa, I suppose I would kind of support Murray purely for patriotic reasons.

nadline , 5/30/13 11:47 AM


@11:02 AM
ritb: your interpretation is correct. but if you'll forgive me for pointing it out - inserting 'exact' is tautological. Epitome stands alone as meaning a perfect example.

ed251137 , 5/30/13 12:17 PM


ed251137 , 5/30/13 12:17 PM

Thanks ed251137, yes, makes sense! I new you'd be useful one day.....

And my damn English teacher got paid.....

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 12:23 PM


I'll be very surprised if my TV feed shows Rafa's match. They tend to concentrate on those on Chatrier......

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 12:37 PM


Keep your mind sharp throughout the match and stay fit, Rafa!

Vamos!

Augustina08 , 5/30/13 1:05 PM


You're welcome rtib. Any time - no fee charged ;-)

ed251137 , 5/30/13 1:23 PM


Today I am so happy to have a holiday back in St. Lucia so I can spend the whole day watching tennis......................then it rains in France.............interruptions, suspensions, delays, sigh!!!!

Hoping they play Rafa's match today!!!......Vamos, Champ!!!

Monalysa , 5/30/13 3:03 PM


At least you have sunshine to cheer you up :-)

Europe is aimingto break all records for the amount of rainfall in what is laughably referred to as the summer :-(.

ed251137 , 5/30/13 3:13 PM


Seems like all the umpires are French..........no Bernades or Layani. This just confirms my opinion of the nationalistic French.

nadline , 5/30/13 3:37 PM


there used to be a section under the name of as it happens on FO website! is it still on? I can't find it this year!

rafaelo , 5/30/13 3:45 PM


Oh Ed,

Im impressed ypu know of St. Lucia!!! Most just as where is that?!!!.................hehe!!!

Its not raining now but its a bit overcast..........might rain soon too, chups!!!

Monalysa , 5/30/13 3:51 PM


@ Ed, it just started raining.........lol!!!!!

Monalysa , 5/30/13 4:01 PM


The Mt. Irvine Bay Hotel, Tobago was a client of mine for some time. But i never had the time to explore any of the other islands apart from Jamaica.

ed251137 , 5/30/13 4:06 PM


Oh dear I jinxed your weather.

ed251137 , 5/30/13 4:08 PM


Lol!!!!Well, it has stopped now.........just a passing spell perhaps!!!

But I hope some day that you will get to explore more of the islands, they are beautiful, even more so St. Lucia..........lol!!!

Monalysa , 5/30/13 4:11 PM


Rosol tanking against fognini so he doesn't have to face nadal

Scrotracker , 5/30/13 4:34 PM


This rain is soooooooooooooo irritating!!!!!

Monalysa , 5/30/13 4:52 PM


fognini getting angry at rosol.........Rosol keeps on stopping before he's about to serve and doing all kinds of weird things.............

Scrotracker , 5/30/13 5:16 PM


for God sake what is happening to Azarenka?!! I thought she would be finished by now..her lead of 5:0 has gone with the wind...will she ever get to the second set?????

natashao , 5/30/13 5:31 PM


I guess Rosol really wants a Rafa re-match. Those are the same tricks/gamesmanship he pulled at Wimby and Rafa was upset about it......

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 5:41 PM


Rosol is lost in the Fog.

#HidingFromRafa

Conspirator , 5/30/13 5:53 PM


by the way djoko handles lefties...

rafaelo , 5/30/13 5:55 PM


is that why he has a losing record against the best lefty of all time?...............

willmw101 , 5/30/13 5:58 PM


Rosol out.

Roger not laughing.

chr20 depressed.

Rafa indifferent.

#GOAT

Conspirator , 5/30/13 6:02 PM


@will! are we joking ourselves?!
since 2011 he is 3-3 against rafa on clay!
I really hope I will be proven wrong! But too worried!

rafaelo , 5/30/13 6:08 PM


Please guys, roll out the blow by blow commentary, can't watch the match, will be sneaking in to check your comments though!

Vamos Rafa!

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 6:09 PM


Rafa is on court.

nadline , 5/30/13 6:21 PM


aljazeere sports is showing masha! :((

rafaelo , 5/30/13 6:22 PM


Rain stops play.

nadline , 5/30/13 6:30 PM


ritb start has delayed!

rafaelo , 5/30/13 6:30 PM


Gee...this rain is annoying...I hope Rafa plays tonight...tmrw I have work to do, will not be able to watch...

natashao , 5/30/13 6:32 PM


Meh....

rafaisthebest , 5/30/13 6:34 PM


these delays against big hitters! not nice memories! :(

rafaelo , 5/30/13 6:34 PM


plays have been suspended till 7.30

rafaelo , 5/30/13 7:03 PM


This rain sucks big time. Frustrating :(((

danica , 5/30/13 7:13 PM


Federer is singing in the rain for ten minutes.

#scheduleGOAT

Conspirator , 5/30/13 7:20 PM


I don't think they will play at all tonight!

rafaelo , 5/30/13 7:28 PM


matches are cancelled for tonight! :|

rafaelo , 5/30/13 7:30 PM


See you tomorrow folks.

Raindrops , 5/30/13 7:35 PM


The match on PC will take place tonight but SL is closed until tomorrow so Rafa and Klizan have been told to go home.

Apparently, there is a TV blackout in Spain due to an industrial strike.

nadline , 5/30/13 7:47 PM


That is terrible...I knew this was coming when I saw the scheduling

atul1985 , 5/30/13 7:50 PM


^^^Sorry, got that wrong. They do show RG in Spain but not on a free channel, so there is no blackout or industrial action.

nadline , 5/30/13 7:55 PM


natashao , 5/30/13 8:02 PM


oops..correction: when RG officials were asked...

natashao , 5/30/13 8:05 PM


I woke up to see that as predicted, the rain forced Rafa's match to be cancelled. This is really unfortunate.

I thought it was RG 2007 when Rafa had to play for several days in a row because of rain delays. It's not like they didn't know this was coming.

So Rafa has had basically three days off and will now have to play maybe two days in a row. I can only hope that he dispatches Klizan easily.

Nativenewyorker , 5/30/13 8:06 PM


:D

rafaelo , 5/30/13 8:07 PM


As I said before FO started, I'm only concerned with the weather (not Rafa's opponents) because I knew he'd be screwed over by the scheduling.

#Rigged

Conspirator , 5/30/13 8:15 PM


Normally I don't go in for conspiracy theories, but this really bothers me. The weather forecast said that there would be rain. So why didn't they move up Rafa's match? They knew it was coming.

Oh and about my post @ 8:06 PM, I believe it was the 2007 Wimbledon in which Rafa had to play for days in a row because of rain delays.

Nativenewyorker , 5/30/13 8:20 PM


Bad and unlucky for Rafa. I hope they put Rafa on 1st tomorrow. Hope RG uses brains
I also knew it today he will suffer due to scheduling.

sanju , 5/30/13 8:21 PM


Rafa is always unlucky that way...............but he always prevails!!!

Monalysa , 5/30/13 8:21 PM


Rafa maybe put early tomorrow and late on Saturday for 3rd round and if SAturday it rains, he again suffers..

How come they put Fed and Rafa on Suznne and Djoko on Chartier.

Maybe they will give everyone 1-2 chances on Suzanne

sanju , 5/30/13 8:23 PM


How nice..........my one day off to get to see Rafa play and this sh*t happens!!!!! DRAT!!!!!

Monalysa , 5/30/13 8:24 PM


Carole Bouchard ?@carole_bouchard From the tournament : it was asked to Nadal and Klizan what they wanted to do and both agreed not to play today and come back tomorrow.

sanju , 5/30/13 8:26 PM


"See you tomorrow folks.
Raindrops, 5/30/13 7:35 PM"

Raindrops, please, if you could postpone your showing for a while ;)

danica , 5/30/13 8:37 PM


ed251137, 5/30/13 1:10 PM,

Of course they agreed not to play today and come back tomorrow. What else were they going to do? Play in a downpour? This was expected. They could see that it wasn't going to stop and it made no sense to just sit around waiting and hoping that they could play.

Nativenewyorker , 5/30/13 8:54 PM


Sorry in my post above I linked to the wrong person's post. It was directed at :26 P.

sanju, 5/30/13 8:26 PM

Nativenewyorker , 5/30/13 8:59 PM


Good grief! The time wasn't correct in my previous post. It should be 8:26 PM!

Nativenewyorker , 5/30/13 9:01 PM


Rafa is 1st on SL tomorrow.

nadline , 5/30/13 10:20 PM


@danica,

I didn't show up the whole day yesterday that's why rain poured. Today, i'll be here all day to cast the rain away :-).

Rafa the court is slippery and muddy careful.

Vamossss !!!

Raindrops , 5/31/13 5:31 AM


Take it out on the yellow fuzzy ball, Rafa. Do your talking on the court.

Vamos!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 6:25 AM


How come they put Fed and Rafa on Suznne and Djoko on Chartier.

Maybe they will give everyone 1-2 chances on Suzanne

sanju , 5/30/13 8:23 PM


Would you have asked the same question if it happened in reverse?

samprallica , 5/31/13 7:20 AM


"Neutral Speak" :
With dreadful weather forecast, Rafa and Nole should've been scheduled to go on at the same time.....lol not on the same court obviously! :)

deuce , 5/31/13 7:50 AM


deuce , 5/31/13 7:50 AM

Why? That would have caused Azarenka some grief no? Players can't get preferential treatment like that - although I'm miffed that Nole was given horrible first round scheduling.

samprallica , 5/31/13 8:02 AM


deuce , 5/31/13 7:50 AM

Lol, why extend some respect to your 7 time Champion when you can just diss him? Yes, how many RG trophies does Azarennka have? And Grigor? No, this is Rafael Nadal, at RG, so no surprises! In fact, l prefer that they treat him this way, this way the haters do not have a bat to beat him up with when he wins.....

Oh, he won because he was extended favourable treatment at Azarenka's expense! *Groan*.....

And of course, moving Azarenka down the schedule pecking order in favour of Rafa would have caused her some grief, lol. Funny, I haven't heard her, or any other players, grieving about the obvious scheduling favours extended to Fed by playing him on the first day.

Like I said, let it be, Rafa will do his talking on the court, like he always does. If Rafa loses, it won't be because he played 2 days in a row, it will be because he played badly on the day.

Vamos!!!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:39 AM


I will say this about RG though, they make no pretense about their biases!!

#Respect

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:43 AM


RT @bgtennisnation: "Weatherman says high of 64 overcast but no rain lets hope he is right today"

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:50 AM


rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:39 AM

Fed definitely got the best deal with scheduling and draws, but hey, were they really supposed to change a schedule that was pre-ordained for the day because it rained? Didn't happen with Nole as far as I recall when it came to his first round. If it hadn't rained there would have been no problems, but what were they supposed to do - reschedule Nadal at the expense of a top women's player?

The schedule was probably made with crowd attendance in mind. Btw, who does Nadal play in the next round? Has his potential next round opponent finished playing?

samprallica , 5/31/13 9:02 AM


Let the crowd have the fun of seeing the French contingent on Chartrier. It's a consolation prize for not being able to look forward to a French champion.

ritb: Chaine Meteo is of the same opinion. Better still the threatened rain for next weekend has been pushed back.

ed251137 , 5/31/13 9:09 AM


samprallica , 5/31/13 9:02 AM

1. This is 2013, RG have the benefit of weather FORECASTS, they do not have to wait on the day and look at the sky, lol! Just as the schedule was pre-ordained a day before, the weather forecast pre-ordained rain for the following day. So as @deuce said, with dreadful weather they could have CHOSEN to put Rafa 1st on the Lenglen schedule like they did Novak on Chatrier, they CHOSE otherwise. This was a choice by the RG team, this was not the weather's fault.

2. Azarenka is a top woman's player, she is not the #1, not even the #2 last time I checked. Does she even have a RG trophy, I can't be bothered to check. Rafa, on the other hand...............like I said, this was a deliberate choice.

3. I understand the crowd attendance argument but again, given the weather forecast, possible scheduling and player disadvantaging considerations should be paramount. Again, especially where your 7 time Champion is concerned. I ahve no qualms putting this argument across, afterall this is the same argument which was banded about to pressure RG to bump Rafa's seeding when the possibility of him entering RG ranked #5 was real.

4. Rafa plays Fognini next round. Fognini played and finished yesterday.

It's all water under the bridge now. I was not in favour of bumping Rafa's seeding in recognition of his RG Championships won but I do feel he deserves some respect from RG because of it and they had a perfect opportunity to do so yesterday and they chose to disrespect him, as usual.

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 9:24 AM


For years Rogie got preferential scheduling, draws and predictions in his favour at RG and Rafa has still won it 7 times.

nadline , 5/31/13 9:41 AM


^^

I agree with point 1, but it isn't just Rafa who gets the short straw. Novak is the no.1 player in the world and got a terrible schedule.

I can't agree with point 2 - I can understand that they could have chosen to put Rafa ahead, but not at expense of Azarenka. Maybe Grigor should have been pushed down, but that would have been unfair on him given Nole finished his match. So Grigor on another court, maybe?

Point 3 - I said it was scheduled with attendance in mind - it is obvious that no mitigation was done for weather.

Point 4 is the most important fact - the one I think has most bearing. Luckily it is Fognini, if it was Novak, the implications might have been pretty bad given the disparity in rest.

samprallica , 5/31/13 9:54 AM


rafaisthebest, 5/31/13 9:24 AM

point taken, BUT UNFORTENATELY, the organisers look at maximising revenues and look at players as a revenue generating tool. Fairness and equal opportunities for all players is the last thing in thier mind.

However, its also not a coincidence, that Roger has NEVER AND I REPEAT NEVER been on the receiving side bad weather induced scheduling problems.

atul1985 , 5/31/13 10:03 AM


We tend to have the same weather where I live in England as they have in Paris and today it's dry and the sun is beginning to peep through the clouds.

nadline , 5/31/13 10:18 AM


good to hear, Thanks for the update

atul1985 , 5/31/13 10:46 AM


Rafa is on court.

nadline , 5/31/13 11:14 AM


VAMOS RAFA!!!!
(Foggy and damp in Brussels, 330 Kms away from Paris)

Shireling , 5/31/13 11:17 AM


please people, tell us - poor sods at the office - Rafa's demeanor and movement on court! 1-0 Rafa , it already starts better than the last match :D
Vamos!!

Shireling , 5/31/13 11:23 AM


RT @ESPNTennis: "On ESPN2, we'll cover all matches, but focusing on Rafa. It's not too early to yell "Vamos!" #RG13"

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 11:25 AM


Rafa doesn't look warmed yet.

nadline , 5/31/13 11:28 AM


I imangine Klizan is following the same pattern as everybody tries to do against Nadal = all or nothing, right?

Shireling , 5/31/13 11:29 AM


Yes, looks subdued and laboured.....but 2-1 Rafa, good so far.

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 11:30 AM


Yes Shireling, that seems to be his tactic.

nadline , 5/31/13 11:30 AM


thought so, well Rafa is holding his serve, so far so good. Thx nadline!

Shireling , 5/31/13 11:32 AM


I think Rafa is still trying to work Klizan out.

nadline , 5/31/13 11:33 AM


I imangine Rafa is standing way behind the baseline....

Shireling , 5/31/13 11:35 AM


Klizan doesn't appear to be as potent as Brand was and the points Klizan has won off Rafa's serve are purely Rafa's own UEs. Rafa seems to be unwinding now.

nadline , 5/31/13 11:38 AM


Yes he is Shireling.
He seems to be pacing himself

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 11:39 AM


what has happened to rafa's ROS! very poor!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 11:41 AM


Rafa is virtually leaning on the backboard.

nadline , 5/31/13 11:42 AM


Rafa is playing very, very conservatively at the moment..........He needs to step it up a notch now and break Klizan

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 11:44 AM


Rafa is trying to adjust to the conditions and to the new opponent who he has never played before.

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 11:44 AM


Klizan is not playing blinding tennis or hitting crazy good shots, it's just that Rafa's still in bed!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 11:47 AM


Djokovic MASSIVE favorite for french open when Nadal is playing like this....................

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 11:47 AM


Klizan breaks.

nadline , 5/31/13 11:47 AM


first break-points for Klizan... here we go again...

Shireling , 5/31/13 11:47 AM


Rafa is broken...WTF

atul1985 , 5/31/13 11:48 AM


so klizan also trying to hit the ball as hard as he can ...rafa looks off at the moment...may be not playing for four days has brought some rust... Klizan is up a break now...rafa playing a 4 setter even would be really bad...

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 11:49 AM


I am speechless!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 11:49 AM


Rafa is what I call cold. He hasn't found his range yet. He hasn't locked into the match yet. It's got everything to do with the weather.

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 11:49 AM


Seventeen... wooohooo that s what she said. Your mother I mean.

childishgambino , 5/31/13 11:49 AM


Rather Djokovic was a MASSIVE favourite today than on the day of the semis!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 11:50 AM


Relax Rafans, even if he drops the 1st set, relax..................

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 11:52 AM


No chance nadal is winning the french open this year. NO CHANCE

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 11:54 AM


I mean no1 really is worried about the outcome of the match....just that rafa is dropping sets like this is strange

atul1985 , 5/31/13 11:54 AM


ritb, are you trying to relax yourself? lol

Shireling , 5/31/13 11:54 AM


The meteo has changed its mind. Again. Still threatening to rain in Paris. :-(((((

David Mercer is getting on my nerves. Which he would just shut up.

ed251137 , 5/31/13 11:54 AM


The bull is slowly waking up! He just needs to stand further up on the baseline for ROS

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 11:55 AM


I'm not gonna sit here and lie, given how still relatively early it is in the tournament, the last thing Rafa needs, is to play a lot of long matches early on. Given the fact he'll probably have to come back tomorrow and play again, he doesn't need another 4 setter.

djb247365 , 5/31/13 11:55 AM


@Shireling, you asked: right now my hands are ice cold, I am fidgety and my heart rate has picked up............

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 11:58 AM


I am worried...how will he do tomorrow after playing 3+ hours today

atul1985 , 5/31/13 12:00 PM


That is exactly what Rafa needs, another 4 sets, so he can get use to the conditions. He hasn't played for 3 days.

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 12:00 PM


great... Klizan gets the 1st set....

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:01 PM


Nadal should just leave RG now.........clearly not playing anywhere near good enough to win the title.......And starting slow and building up has nothing to do with it, look at all his most successful title runs, he was dominating the early rounds and playing well......After Rome and Madrid he should be peaking at the right time...........But no, he's playing so so badly......career over.

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:01 PM


Well, he will have to play a 4-setter, at best, Klizan has the first set............

Must say I did not think this was necessary by Rafa...........

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:01 PM


Can't believe he just dropped a set to a guy that has a 6-13 record this year. Where is the aggressiveness? Would be a smarter idea to start and finish a tournament playing aggressive, and not wait until the later rounds to do so. He's not helping his cause getting into extended matches so early on. He needs to step it up. He can do way better than this.

djb247365 , 5/31/13 12:03 PM


Come on everybody. Relax. This is Nadal and there are four more sets to go.

Nevertheless, I'm biting my nails.

ed251137 , 5/31/13 12:03 PM


isabeau77, 5/31/13 12:00 PM

Lolz, optimism has its limits!

atul1985 , 5/31/13 12:03 PM


Okay @willmw, you've outed yourself..........Scrotracker hahaha!

#Antijinxmeister

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:04 PM


performances like this will give djokovic more and more confidence.

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:04 PM


If Rafa is still not feeling it maybe he'll also lose the 2nd set to give himself a bit more of a work-out, no? :)

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:05 PM


Oh how I dislike these too tall massive servers. :( Put them in their very own league, you know it makes sense.
Really feeling for you guys, come on Rafa!

deuce , 5/31/13 12:06 PM


...everyone thinks I'm willma....not even close!!!! :)

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:06 PM


He is on a mission now. Picked up the pace of the grown, walking with purpose.

If anyone of you have played any physical sport you will understand when I say, that in the first set, rafa's body wasn't physically dialled in.

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 12:07 PM


if Rafa ends up winning this year as well the FR will start teaching tennis to basketball players to pair them up against him next year

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:07 PM


Wow! Rafa finally gets the break. Now maybe he'll relax and get rolling!

djb247365 , 5/31/13 12:09 PM


djokovic and fed would never lose sets against klizan or brands.........

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:09 PM


Rafa breaks!!!!!!

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:09 PM


breaks! but i don't see him make it to the final

rafaelo , 5/31/13 12:10 PM


geez guys.. this is Rafa we're talking about.. have maybe just a little more faith. One set/match at a time!

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:11 PM


Only those who have played sport in the cold will understand why Rafa lost the first set and why going to 4 sets isn't a bad thing.

I play tennis and it takes me a good 30mins to warm up in the heat and more in the cold and when I mean warm up, I'm mean for my body to get totally dialled into the match and the ball. It's only 12 degrees on court at the moment...

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 12:13 PM


@rafaelo, if you don't calm down I am catching a flight right now to Iran to confiscate your computer!!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:14 PM


I can understand isabeau, I remember federer dropping a set against ferrero in 2007 wimbledon after he had a 4-5 day break between this 3rd and 4th rnd matches ! federer romped to victory in the next 3 sets though..hoping for the same here

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 12:15 PM


Lol guys, I'm almost behind the sofa myself...;) But looks safe to come out now, Rafa has at last woken up :)
@samps. Just think the scheduling is unfair. Would have said something if Nole/Fed were in the same position. As for bumping Az., off, well as women only play best of 3 think there is a case for giving the top men more chance to finish matches.

deuce , 5/31/13 12:16 PM


Break, Rafa. This should be the 2nd set in the bag................

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:18 PM


isabeau77, 5/31/13 12:07 PM,

Nice to see you here again! Thanks for the perspective. I can't believe that I am still up after 3:00 in the morning here!

Rafa didn't play in three days, the cold weather is not helping and he's never played this guy. This time blame the weather and those who didn't make sure that Rafa could get his match in yesterday.

So check it out now! 4-0 Rafa in the second set! Rafa has to play enough to get the rhythm and timing on his groundstrokes. Brands was tough because he didn't give Rafa any rhythm.

Anyone who would make a prediction about Rafa and the final, is really getting carried away.

Nativenewyorker , 5/31/13 12:18 PM


Just pray now everybody rain doesn't stop play. That wouldn't be good news.

ed251137 , 5/31/13 12:20 PM


a bagel coming up for those of too little faith...

Vamos Rafa!

phoenix , 5/31/13 12:20 PM


This is 2009 Nadal all over again...............

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:21 PM


Klizan gets one break back.............again, not because of Klizan's super play but strange errors and poor shot selection from Rafa......

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:22 PM


He starts moving very very well. 4-1

Vamos !!!!

Raindrops , 5/31/13 12:22 PM


bagel my foot, gets broken back..well

atul1985 , 5/31/13 12:22 PM


phoenix, next time don't mention bagel.. lol

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:22 PM


spoke too soon...:-)

phoenix , 5/31/13 12:23 PM


i cannot remember, but does Nadal not play well when the clay is moist? I was under the impression that he plays best when the clay is hard and dry? Could that be the reason for him losing the opening sets in Round 1 and 2?

dejan1989 , 5/31/13 12:24 PM


Rafa gets robbed, ball was out............

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:25 PM


Rafa's been making too many UE's and having poor shot selection since the match started. Klizan gets one break back.

Brad Gilbert said at the start of the match that it was 51 degrees. That's cold!

Nativenewyorker , 5/31/13 12:25 PM


someone give Rafa a sweat-shirt for pitty's sake !

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:27 PM


Well at 4-0 i thought rafa was back ...well he certainly is not !

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 12:28 PM


Rafa seems to still be out of sorts.

Nativenewyorker , 5/31/13 12:29 PM


Madrid and Rome he was also out of sorts in the early rounds but picked up later, hoping pattern repeats here.......

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:32 PM


dejan1989-
Correct...he plays well in the heat, when the court is dry and hard, as he can apply alot of topspin and the ball flys off the court.
Cold, conditions make the balls heavy and heavy balls are slower and hence don't rotate as much

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 12:33 PM


As much as I love Rafa, he complicates things a bit too much for my liking sometimes, lol

djb247365 , 5/31/13 12:35 PM


Rafa's forehand is not "singing" yet, letting him down a bit............

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:35 PM


Going to rain all of next week so nadal better start playing better in damp conditions......

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:36 PM


BG on ESPN just said that Rafa was complaining about his forehand. Uncle Toni is trying to give him support.

These cold conditions will make the balls heavy and Rafa's shots won't be as effective.

Nativenewyorker , 5/31/13 12:37 PM


After all that, we're at square one...........now it's a Masters 1000 match......

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:38 PM


wooooohooooo 1 set a piece. Hope Rafa feels "colm" now that he won the 2nd set and get warmed up.

Raindrops , 5/31/13 12:38 PM


NNY-
Reality.
The weather in the next week or so is meant to be more of the same.
I would prefer rafa to struggle and learn to play in these conditions effectively, then to cruise through the week in ideal conditions, only to arrive to a semi or final, with cold and wet weather, with no practice in these conditions.

In hindsight, we may look back and thank the stars that Rafa got a chance to work himself into the tournament in his least favourable conditions

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 12:38 PM


no, the weather forecast for the next week is not as rainy..its dry mostly

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 12:39 PM


isabeau77,
Since you play tennis yourself (so did I, in another life..) how do you think Klizan being a lefty is affecting Rafa's shot selection?

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:39 PM


Well if it is cold and damp, then Djoker will beat rafa easily

atul1985 , 5/31/13 12:40 PM


Anybody still having doubts - take a look at IBM Slamtracker and compare set 1 and set 2 stats!!!!!

ed251137 , 5/31/13 12:43 PM


if its cold and damp djokovic will beat nadal in straights.

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:43 PM


Rafa starts with a break in the third :)

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:44 PM


I feel like Nadal is still nervous. This is the first Slam for him since he lost to Rosol...and the weather hasn't helped. Next week's forecast is warm and dry, good news for the Nadal camp.

cherylmurray , 5/31/13 12:46 PM


Okay, need to take the dog for a walk.......

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 12:47 PM


Rafa never broke, on the contrary he is struggling to hold his serve

atul1985 , 5/31/13 12:47 PM


Please somebody gag David Mercer. He always talks garbage but he is plumbing new depths today.

ed251137 , 5/31/13 12:47 PM


which match are you watching shireling?

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 12:47 PM


ritb I am NOT scoretracker. LOL

willmw101 , 5/31/13 12:48 PM


Vamosrafa-
But it will cold...and cold doesnt suit rafa's game, due to the reasoning I explained above.

Shireling-
It just takes more conscious effort to change your direction of play and the ball flys off at different angles, which takes longer to get use to, especially when you have conditions to get use to and an opponent who is hitting the ball as hard as he can

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 12:48 PM


should read scrottracker

willmw101 , 5/31/13 12:49 PM


and Klizan break back... that's three times he's broken Rafa today.. isn't it?

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:49 PM


you guys are giving WAY too much importance to 'cold' ...do you know it was cold and damp in RG 2008 final?

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 12:51 PM


I can't watch the match here (*shhhh, at work) , just checking the scores.. but I have faith in our Rafa :)

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:51 PM


Who cares if it's cold or not. Nadal simply isn't playing so well. Plain and simple. If he was playing good, he would straight set Klizan. Anyway, he probably will improve as the tournament progresses. His next opponent(fognini) is more of a counterpuncher, so nadal will find his rhythm there.

tj600 , 5/31/13 12:52 PM


thx isabeau77,
Nadal always paces himself when delivering good ddl shots, I imagine that with a lefty this is even more difficult.

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:54 PM


Someone please tell me Rafa's gonna come through this? How's he playing? Is Klizan hitting winter after winner? When I heard the score in first set my heart sank again

rafakid , 5/31/13 12:55 PM


@tj600, EXCELLENT point about fognini being an opponent likely to give rafa rhyhtm !was about to write it..

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 12:55 PM


djokovic wud have served a triple bagel to klizan.............

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 12:56 PM


wish someone - preferably Rafa - would actually hold their own serve in this set...

Shireling , 5/31/13 12:58 PM


One thing: never fully judge rafa against a lefty ! he ALWAYS plays differently against lefties and is often more conservative too ! watch his matches against lefties in peak form and you will see that often

vamosrafa , 5/31/13 12:58 PM


Lets not kid ourselves. Nadal has declined for sure. Yes hes reached 8 tournies and won 6 , but we have to remind ourselves that the competition was significantly weaker this year than previous years. Same players, but neither fed nor djok were at their peak. Whats more, ferrer took more games off nadal this season than any previous clay season in memory - that just shoudln't happen ever.

In previous years nadal literally steamrolled over everybody including fed and djok. On a bad day he'd lose one set to fed or djok. Now he's losing sets to nobodies at FO.

It's not a matter of warming up or not warming up. Previously nadal's warm up was bagels and breadsticks. Now its losing a set. Clearly nadal has declined and its unlikely he'll ever be at his peak again.

I think fans need to come to terms with that. Just like federer is long past his peak, so nadal is now over the mountain.

DeadManWalking , 5/31/13 1:02 PM


rafakid! I am really doubtful!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 1:03 PM


Deadmanwalking I agree.........

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 1:10 PM


deadmanwalking, scortracker... let's talk in two weeks :)

Shireling , 5/31/13 1:13 PM


I'm not saying that nadal doesn't have a chance of winning RG. Its just he definitely isn't as dominant on clay as before. Anyone comparing 2006-8 seasons to now would agree. The level of domination that nadal had at 2008 RG was God like.

DeadManWalking , 5/31/13 1:15 PM


Yeh Rafa has declined..lol... Out with injury for 7mths, comes back, plays 8 tournaments, reaches 8 finals, wins 6.
He is hopeless!

It is clear, that the dumb comments are coming from people who play no sport, let alone know anything about tennis

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 1:16 PM


well, you can bagel every oponent till the final and then lose it, is that any better?

Shireling , 5/31/13 1:16 PM


I agree...winning RG has become progressively tougher for Rafa from 2008 onwards - 2009 he lost, 2010 he won without dropping a set but lost more many games than 2008, 2011 he lost sets right from round 1, 2012 he got a almightly scare for 8 games in the final.....BUt thats normal isint it? He might still win RG13 but looks like it will be much tougher than RG12

atul1985 , 5/31/13 1:17 PM


After watching the last 4-5 games I can see this is a very tired nadal. Which is to be expected after 8 tournaments this year and no best of 5 setters since Wimbledon last year. I only hope he can get through this first week

rafakid , 5/31/13 1:21 PM


funny, after winning 7 RGs, I thought that the rest would come easily for Rafa....

Shireling , 5/31/13 1:22 PM


wooooohoooo 2-1, one more set brother Rafa.

Vamos !!!!

Raindrops , 5/31/13 1:23 PM


was being sarcastic btw, 3rd in the bag!

Shireling , 5/31/13 1:24 PM


Early break needed in the fourth! C'mon Raf

rafakid , 5/31/13 1:25 PM


Anyone still in doubt. lol.

Or to coin Ricky's pronouncement. NID.

ed251137 , 5/31/13 1:25 PM


isabeau! do not judge people!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 1:26 PM


Rafa isn't tired. The conditions are slow.

The women on the other hand, are wearing long sleeve tops and 3/4 pants for the duration of their matches...it's freezing!!

The only thing that matters is the end result. There is no good, having your praises sung prematurely, unlike some other player, only to crumble when it really matters, in a semi or final.

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 1:28 PM


Oh yeh

rafakid , 5/31/13 1:32 PM


Lol @ Isabeau77 - I'm not going to stoop as low as you and resort to personal attacks because that's exactly what's wrong with the world today. Instead read what I have to say.

Yes Nadal won 6/8 tourneys and made the finals. That however doesn't mean he hasn't declined. You can continue to win, if the competition has also declined - which it has. Federer and Djokovic Both had comparatively WEAK clay seasons, being knocked out early on in a few tournaments. Any reasonable analysis would say that they were not near their peak level during the clay court season. Generally speaking Federer and Djokovic are the ONLY people who can beat nadal on a clay court or push him. Therefore, I think his wins DO NOT tell the ENTIRE story.

If you look at how he won previously at clay tournaments. Nadal Decimated opponents by steam rolling them. Nadal of 2007/2008 would never have lost 1 set a piece in first 2 rounds of RG.

If you just analyze the wins and his performance compared to 2007/2008 - there is no doubt that he is no where near as dominant as he used to be. I think you quickly forget that Nadal once had a 81 clay court match streak.

Yes he is still the best on clay on most days, but he is no longer God mode. Hence the decline, and that is fact. You can change my mind again if nadal goes on a 81 match streak again.

DeadManWalking , 5/31/13 1:34 PM


Rafa breaks for 2-0 in the 4th , yei, yei :)

Shireling , 5/31/13 1:35 PM


uh uh 0-40 !!!

Raindrops , 5/31/13 1:37 PM


DeadManWalking,
with that rationale you might say Djokovic is in decline too, no?

Shireling , 5/31/13 1:37 PM


What is goin on here? Gives the break back straight away

rafakid , 5/31/13 1:38 PM


The old nadal would never have let klizan break back..............

Scrotracker , 5/31/13 1:38 PM


oh he got broken too not a good game.

Raindrops , 5/31/13 1:40 PM


worst than first match! even klizan is not big hitter!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 1:41 PM


Can't be bothered with this site anymore. Filled with a bunch of tolls, with nothing better to do than talk crap and bait people.

Signing out

isabeau77 , 5/31/13 1:41 PM


hehe he breaks back...come on Rafa. CONCENTRATE !!!

Raindrops , 5/31/13 1:44 PM


hey isabeau77, weather the storm girl, weather the storm!!! ... all alone on the anti-jinx barge now :)

Shireling , 5/31/13 1:47 PM


Rafa has only just warmed up.

nadline , 5/31/13 1:50 PM


Just what the doctor ordered! Game Set and Mats

rafakid , 5/31/13 1:51 PM


Oh goody, walked the dog.....coming back to see a nice scoreline....

Vamos!!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 1:51 PM


Not yet

rafakid , 5/31/13 1:53 PM


Oh no, came back too soon, anyone got a dog I can borrow to walk?

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 1:55 PM


Rafa wins rome in 2012 and plays incredible tennis all the way to the RG final. Rafa wins in rome 2013 and plays terrible tennis for the first two rounds of RG. Not a good sign, and so up and down against Klizan. Where has his confidence gone?? Rafa was so so so good against berdych in Rome, this is a huge dropoff.

willmw101 , 5/31/13 1:55 PM


Rafa serving for the match so Klizan goes for broke. Klizan breaks.

ed251137 , 5/31/13 1:55 PM


Rafa is missing forehands like that?! What has happened to him.

willmw101 , 5/31/13 1:59 PM


the man is just carrying THE name "nadal"!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 2:01 PM


he's gonna have to serve-it out..

Shireling , 5/31/13 2:01 PM


@Shireling. Its hard to say with djokovic. In 2011 he was on God mode. Some of the finals he played were ridiculous, shot after shot so high risk but making them all. I don't think he'll ever be that good, but for Djok it's kinda different. He only really became dominant 2010 onwards. Whereas Rafa has been on the scene since 2005 destroying people on clay. I think time will tell. Maybe its a momentary dip for djok and he'll be back. But as to whether I think he can re-achieve 2011, I don't think so. Arguably best season ever by a player, even federer (when you consider the depth of 2011 compared to when fed was dominant).

DeadManWalking , 5/31/13 2:02 PM


please Rafa finish off the match and go home

atul1985 , 5/31/13 2:02 PM


Rafa has not played with "colm" at all in this match......

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 2:02 PM


how will he get his "colm" when he plays Djokovic?
against Fed he will be "colm" I know

atul1985 , 5/31/13 2:04 PM


Rafa looked really angry with his form at the end of that match. Not good signs.

willmw101 , 5/31/13 2:04 PM


Hard to assess Rafa at this point and not applicable to compare with other Roland garros victories! Yes he's dropped 2 sets but its the overall outcome of the match that counts. I think Brands and Klizan will hold Rafa in good stead. Very difficult opponents, big hitters, over 6 foot. I keep saying as long as rafa gets into second week, we will be in a better situation to assess him

rafakid , 5/31/13 2:04 PM


Only Rafa knows what's up with him, but his 70% is good enough to see of Klizan.


#Vamos Rafa

nadline , 5/31/13 2:05 PM


Rafa's reaction was interesting, no jumping up, just a small raised fist...but I'll take it.

GSM, Rafa. 2 down, 5 more to go.........

Vamos against the Fog!!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 2:05 PM


game, set, match!
Vamos Rafa!!
Rafa spoiled the match by winning 4 games in the 1st set, otherwise it would have been a perfect scoreline

Shireling , 5/31/13 2:05 PM


Not surprised Rafa is not too happy with himself because his go-to shot, the forehand, was not there today, but this is Rafa, he will improve and he will not go away......one match at a time.....

And by the way, the person who said Rafa has declined and it's a fact, that is not true, that is an opinion, not a fact. Just saying.....

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 2:09 PM


Deadmanwalking,
One might argue that Rafa is in decline. True, we might not see him as powerful and dominant as in other seasons but he's still winning and that's what counts as far as I'm concerned.

Shireling , 5/31/13 2:10 PM


I prefer him to withdraw rather than being humiliated by djoko! this can destroy rafa's future for ever!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 2:10 PM


They say Rafa was up practicing on SL at 6am today so he is probably not a morning person. Far too early for a spaniard to be playing at this time of the day.

Rafa had two competitive opening matches at RG in 2011. Guess who took home the trophy? The same at Wimbie in 2010.

nadline , 5/31/13 2:10 PM


well, so long guys and gals. got to do a bit of work ... been a pleasure (not so much trolling today)

Shireling , 5/31/13 2:12 PM


One can argue with opinions, you cannot argue with facts...................

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 2:16 PM


Wimbldon isn't the same nadline, its a surface made for upsets and serving form and a few shots here and there can decide a set. At RG Rafa should be controlling the early rounds and rally's and not throwing away sets, like he has done in 1R and 2R this year. 2011 RG also isn't a good reference point because he played poor tennis overall to win that title and didn't meet djokovic. This year he will meet djokovic and he needs to be playing at his rome level to beat him. If rafa plays at that level it will be nadal beating djokovic easily a la 2012, but there isn't much reason to assume that Rafa is at or can scale that level right now. Unless Rafa plays Gasquet I cant see him being able to play himself in to form before the semi's.

willmw101 , 5/31/13 2:16 PM


These young and upcoming players are all playing harakiri when they see Rafa on the other side of the net. They just pound the ball as hard as they can because that's how they were taught to defeat Rafa. They acted all the same in the court...hit the ball like no tomorrow and swing their racket freely. They have nothing to lose anyway and its somehow fruitful as they managed to steal a set off from Rafa.

Vamos !!!!

Raindrops , 5/31/13 2:18 PM


I am not even going the search and read articles on Rafa today, they will all be panting, " Rafa's dramatic escape after losing first set!"

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 2:19 PM


willmw, we can always count on you seeing the cup as half empty.


#Vamos

nadline , 5/31/13 2:25 PM


Rafa has told an American network that he was unhappy about the scheduling yesterday.

nadline , 5/31/13 2:35 PM


nadline, you didn't adress the rational point I made (as usual) and just reeled off some cliched phrase. Good work.

willmw101 , 5/31/13 2:48 PM


Raindrops! lets not fool ourselves with these sweet justifications! Rafa is playing badly! and he is will have no chance of winning a top guy playing like this!I am depressed right now! and want this RG be finished and not being won by DJOKER! I hate this!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 2:48 PM


rafaelo,

That's how I see it. No one can chance my views until Rafa is defeated. As far I am concerned Rafa is fine and he is giving all his can game after game. If you are writing now his obituaries...as in NOW as this moment, then mourn alone and get depressed onto something that has not occured yet. Anyway not even single Rafan will agree with you...so go ahead my friend mourn as early as you can...but don't kill yourself.

Raindrops , 5/31/13 2:54 PM


that should be read CHANGE.

Raindrops , 5/31/13 2:56 PM


Raindrops! easy! no offence!
but how on earth you could say rafa fine!!!!!!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 3:00 PM


Take away from this match today....................

Just shows how difficult it is to beat Rafa even when his is not playing his best...............an insummountable task!

You cant deny that Rafa has had some good match play in the last two rounds! He has had excellent preparation for the upcoming rounds.............better to be match tough than to breeze through and get blitz by an unsuspecting opponent in the important rounds

Rafa does not need to win his matches 0/1/0 like in previous years. He is playing more effeciently now by not chasing down EVERY ball so the scorelines now look more competitive! He is playing well enough to win!

Calm down you people! If Rafa is declining, then the rest of the field is trash!!!!

Stop thinking ahead of the semis, who knows, neither Nole or Rafa may make it there!!

Give Rafa a damn break!!! He is coming off of a 7 mth injury layoff!! Serves him right for spoliing his fans with his winning ways, so now he is being crucified for not winning well enough or to our liking.......shish!!! He is playing lousy bcos he loses ONE set?!!!

What do we know about tennis?!! Rafa is a highly decorated tennis player, holder of 11 GS and record Masters tournements! What has any one of you achieved in that respect?!!.........................i thought so!!

Leave Rafa alone!!! He is going to do this at his own pace..................not yours!!!!

Vamos Champ!!!! One match at a time! Hoping to see you in the final week!!

Monalysa , 5/31/13 3:09 PM


Thank goodness this was clay. Didn't want to see another top 4 player Rosoled in the 2nd round since....... well, KTSP was rosoled in 2012 wimbledon......

I can only imagine the insanity of the RAfaTardSif the guy had lost in the 2nd round on the only surface he can dominate.

Fedkovic23 , 5/31/13 3:11 PM


willmw, you didn't make any rational point. You are just like a vulture too happy to pick at Rafa's bones if there is a hint of underperformance from him. You seem to get a kick out of that.

The facts are, Rafa has not always performed at his best in the early rounds of a tournament when he has gone on to win the title. Whatever interpretation you want to put on it is your opinion, it's not fact. This doesn't only apply to Rafa, Muzz, Djoker and Fed have also worked their way into tournaments from not firing on all cylinders to winning the title.

nadline , 5/31/13 3:18 PM


@rafaisthebest, 5/31/13 2:19 PM

Go no further than reading wilmw's post right here.

nadline , 5/31/13 3:21 PM


wilmw, if I thought you were genuine in your comments maybe I would see it differently, but I distinctly remember you musing that Rafa would retire at his post-match presser after he lost to Zeballous in Vina Del Mar, saying it was all over and he would never be the same player again.

nadline , 5/31/13 3:27 PM


WOW, it's summer and federer has no titles to his name... top 10 players aren't allowed to participate in challengers, are they? That's his only hope at a tournament this year. GOD, the guy doesn't know when to retire...

childishgambino , 5/31/13 3:30 PM


Firstly Congrats guys for not responding to the trolls seventeen and fedkovic. Great job, continue ignoring always

Yes Rafa losing sets in round 1 and 2 is thereotically not a good sign but to extrapolate that and make all kind of inferences maybe not a right thing to do. I remember RITB said few days back she is most worried about Brands and Klizen as Rafa has never played them before and that is exactly what happened.

In my opinion Rafa was never favourite for R13, it can be won by any of the top 3 - Djoko, Rafa, Fed (aided due to the lucky draw and Rafa/Djoko killing each other in semi)

I also fear Benoit Paire a bit, I know Rafa has beaten him recently but he can trouble Rafa

Lastly rafaelo wy are you so depressed and worried buddy? Chill, if he loses not end of the world, always a next time.

sanju , 5/31/13 3:37 PM


And for record Fed is not playing great today against Julian, hes not bad but not great either. He will win in straights but there is little margin

sanju , 5/31/13 3:40 PM


Carole Bouchard ?@carole_bouchard 5m "The reason they gave me for yesterday's schedule was that Rosol had to play doubles. My reaction? It is a joke.", Nadal

sanju , 5/31/13 3:44 PM


I know ;) just some exaggeration :D
but i will be very sad, very sad! because I don't want his legacy(?) being underminded!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 3:45 PM


If Rafa hadn't won a title for nine months like Fed, it would be on the lips of every commentator every time his name was mentioned. No one mentions that.

nadline , 5/31/13 3:52 PM


"It's not fair that I had to play third after girls and men & my opponent had to play second after girls." Nadal, ever the diplomat, to Pam.

Rafa: "tournament supervisors made a big mistake with me. my opponents played yesterday. it's not fair."

Hope RG hears complaint and takes care henceforth

sanju , 5/31/13 3:52 PM


Raindrops , 5/31/13 2:54 PM
Monalysa , 5/31/13 3:09 PM

Totally agree with you. I see no reason to write Rafa's orbituary at all. He won, is in the next round and it is clear what is not working with Rafa. He knows it too, he will adjust. He had never played his first 2 opponents before and Rafa always struggles against players he is meeting for the first time. And as far as this game with Klizan was concerned, it was more Rafa dropping points through errors than Klizan playing lights out. And all this was because of Rafa's forehand not firing as per usual. But still, he won.

Some of you Rafans appear to have a Djokovic obsession or fear. Seriously, you are an embarrassment right now. I am so glad you are not Rafa. Rafaf dose not play Djokovic next. It is entirely possible neither could get to the semis. Djokovic is not the field, there are other players to play before any possible meeting with Djokovic. And if he indeed hets to play Djokovic and loses, so what? He will get up, dust himself and ready himself for the next fight.

Anyone would think beating Djokovic is the object of the whole exercise, it is not.

Rafa is not worried about Djokovic right now, he will be worried about getting his mis-firing forehand up to speed. What was interesting was to see Rafa trusting his back-hand over his forehand like he did today! I like that. His forehand will come, but glad to see his confidence in his backhand back........

Tomorrow, the Fog.

Vamos Rafa, may the force be with you!!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 3:54 PM


sanju , 5/31/13 3:52 PM

Thank you, sanju! So glad Rafa is now being blunt, of course it is not fair, it was downright disrespectful and Rafa needs to demand the respect he deserves. He does not deserve to be treated like everyone else. Not everyone else has 7 RG's to their name so please....................

Anyway, I hope he let's it go now, the complaint has been registered, onwards and upwards!!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 3:59 PM


Rafa also says the conditions are not very good to play and he hopes to see the sun back soon. :-)

sanju , 5/31/13 4:01 PM


Rafa was in a bad mood having to play today so he was not mentally fully on, it was pretty obvious.

nadline , 5/31/13 4:03 PM


Easy in the end :)

deuce , 5/31/13 4:12 PM


We all know Rafa can play better than this. He must have been up at 5am to be able to practice on SL at 6am on what was supposed to be his off day, that must have put him in a bad mood.

nadline , 5/31/13 4:14 PM


RT @NeilHarmanTimes: "Rafa Nadal has one word for the scheduling "Joke""

I think Rafa has tried to hold his tongue about the French bias against him but this time it was so obvious they were trying to hamstring him even he could not keep quiet......

#Joke

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 4:16 PM


Maybe Rafa is listening to Gulbis and being more outspoken.

nadline , 5/31/13 4:18 PM


Well, would not be surprised to see Rafa up first on the OOP tomorrow............the French are having a laugh, right? And the justification, oh but Federer played after Rafa!

RT @christophclarey: #Nadal = #Disgruntled

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 4:21 PM


Well, they had better try not to make Rafa angry.................bcos you KNOW what happens when he gets angry!!!..................................he wins it all!!!!!

VAMOS Champ!!!

Monalysa , 5/31/13 4:42 PM


Hiiii there All....M new here...But i was spectator here since year and half.....so I allmst knw u guys

Fedzz22 , 5/31/13 4:46 PM


Monalysa..Hope so :-)

sanju , 5/31/13 4:53 PM


RITB..No Rafa will be put mostly 3rd tomm ..maye Suzanne again. Djoko Grigor will get Chartier

sanju , 5/31/13 4:55 PM


rafaelo..you 19 right? or u said 24? If u stress so much, ull start looking 30 plus already :-)

sanju , 5/31/13 4:57 PM


sanju, 5/31/13 3:37 PM

Agreed, congrats all.

rafaelo, "interesting" points! GFY!!! ;)

The weather is Rafa's biggest opponent in this tournament as I said when I saw the long range forecast prior to the FO start. Cold, damp, heavy conditions take a lot of spin off the ball. 10 deg C is cold for the tennis, no?

Rafa is through and that's really all that matters. I've seen Rafa struggle in early rounds, gets to the final (Saturday in this case) and play lights out.

The draw/scheduling is an absolute joke.

#77-1
#YouCannotBeSerious
#KingOfTennis

Conspirator , 5/31/13 4:57 PM


Matt Cronin ?@TennisReporters Nadal upset with scheduling: men should play earlier than women cause only play best of 3, no big deal if they have 2 play 2 days in a row.

sanju , 5/31/13 4:58 PM


BTW guys Tsonga is looking kinda sharp

sanju , 5/31/13 5:00 PM


As the WTA is clearly a waste of time, I agree the men should get first priority.

tj600 , 5/31/13 5:03 PM


sanju I am 22 ;) soon to be 23 ;)

rafaelo , 5/31/13 5:06 PM


Rafa's argument is sound. The WTA plays consecutive days year round best of three so majors should schedule the same when necessary.

French have never shown any favouritism to Rafa. Quite the contrary. Only (spoon)Fed gets the handouts.

#77-1

Conspirator , 5/31/13 5:07 PM


The the wobbly Rafans, read this carefully:

http://goo.gl/Vn8aG

Top 10 hardest feats in tennis

"1. Take three sets off Rafael Nadal on clay

The facts: Try these numbers on for size (and we warn you, there isn't enough room, even in the boundless black hole of the Internet, to unleash all his triumphs): Nadal is 54-1 at the French Open (in other words, he wins 98 percent of his matches) and has a record seven titles. But how about these nuggets? In 55 matches at Roland Garros, Nadal has dropped only 16 sets. Hello! No one, man or women, has a better winning percentage at any Grand Slam than this beast. And then there are his eight Barcelona, eight Monte Carlo and seven Rome championships. All records. What do all these numbers really mean? Not much except it's proof positive that beating Nadal on clay, especially for three out of five sets, is the most taxing ask in tennis.

Evert analysis: He hits the ball with such topspin and acceleration. Most players' strike zone is at their waist, but Nadal hits the ball so high that opponents are hitting it from their shoulders. It's almost impossible to attack a player like that.

Degree of difficulty: 12.24 out of 10

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 5:08 PM


rfaelo..dont stress so much over Rafa , u may end up looking 30 plus :-)

sanju , 5/31/13 5:08 PM


"The shock and horror across the media center was silent but very much real when Rafael Nadal dropped his opening set of the French Open for the second straight match. Imagine that: The guy plays a subpar couple of sets and suddenly the earth is knocked off kilter. But that's how good Nadal has been in Paris. He has secured nearly every conceivable record, including his most celebrated feat, a record seven titles. And beating him here at Roland Garris? Near impossible. With that, here are the current top 10 most difficult feats in tennis:"
(Matt Wilansky, ESPN.COM, 31 May 2013)

For those saying Rafa is in decline, hold onto that warm blanket tightly, there's a cold chill blowing through RG..............It's called Rafael Nadal!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 5:13 PM


At work so I read thorugh many but not most of the comments here.

Worth remembering: in 2008 Nadal was in Gd mode on clay and tore through the competition including Federer, went on to win Queens (that was the year, right?) and Wimbledon, and AO. But ever since he has had various struggles at RG (and elsewhere)... really bad knees at RG but actually starting in Miami, and difficult time emotionally learning about his parents on his flight home from AO. In 2010 things were mostly OK but I think there were some difficulties in the background. In 20011 kind of off during clay season and by the start of RG felt like he had played for decades - all this in part but not entirely due to cold and injury early in the year leading to defeat in an earlier round at AO, and in part but not entirely due to this being Novak's Gd mode year. Still Rafa made it to the finals and won RG. In 2012 he was playing with badly injured knees throughout the clay season and RG (he finally hit the injury wall at Wimbledon) and in crazy muddy conditions during the final but prevailed.

So there is nothing new here. No one, literally no one, did or could have expected Rafa to do as well as he has since coming back in February after the 7 month injury break. He has played a lot. He has had weeks or matches with lower confidence or conditionig, but he has made it to all 8 finals and won 6 of them so far. And yes, he is no longer running down every single ball. And we know that Rafa is a nervous player whose confidence goes up and down due based on several factors. In addition he still is not back at the level of condition that he would be _normally_ since his break, and his confidence is there intermittently. If he wins RG and then does very well again (hopefully) at Wimbledon the confidence will continue to stabilize. In the meantime he is doing what we are used to: finding solutions to the player he is facing one match at a time and using his mind and his versatility and skill to win the matches. I am not worried in the least. I think that realistically he _is_ the favorite to win RG while the margin with Novak is lower than before, ie Novak is the second favorite to win... despite not being as sharp lately as he has been. I think that Rafa will reach the semi, win it somehow no matter who is there, and then certainly win the final. If he doesn't, really, not the end of the world or anyhing... number 8 will come.

The only thing that has ever worried me about Nadal is a career ending injury and he's had a few scares like that starting back in 2004, 9 years ago, but each time things were worked out between the medical and physiotherapeutical solutions and Rafa's deep desire and hard work to persevere. 90% if not more of other players would have given up on their career by now, not having quite the same will to continue and mental fortitude to do everything needed to continue, and to continue to improve.

In short, too me everything besides major/major injuries is not worth fretting about, Rafa takes good care and usually prevails. He will not win each tournament we'd like him to, but that is us being unrealistically greedy. He has surpassed expectations year in year out... everyone's expectations... in terms of career longevity and continual improving each aspect of his game that needed improving. He has shown how to play the long game of life (like the long game of reasing your children well, for example) while remaining grounded and humble. What more can you possibly ask?

chlorostoma , 5/31/13 5:23 PM


sure sanju ;) I'm not stressing that much! I am more stressed about my final exams ;)

rafaelo , 5/31/13 5:28 PM


Well said chloro.

Nadal rips French Open scheduling...

http://tinyurl.com/mal8ocv

#Rigged
#spoonFed

Conspirator , 5/31/13 5:43 PM


@samprallica, this is for you, in light of the discussion we had this morning on the subject:

http://goo.gl/lU5Dy

?I think everybody knows in this room that the schedule of [Thursday] was wrong,? Nadal told reporters after the win. ?That?s the real thing. I don?t know if the director of the tournament, supervisors, guys who take the positions, they take a bad position two days ago, because when you make the schedule at 7 in the [evening], not 11 in the morning, you know which weather predictions you have for the next days.?

Nadal was unhappy that his second-round match was scheduled third after a men?s and women?s match, while his third-round opponent, Fabio Fognini, was scheduled second after a women?s match on another court. The scheduling decision meant Nadal?s match was more likely to be postponed due to rain as opposed to Fognini?s. As it happened, he was right. Fognini was able to get on court and win his match on Thursday and have a day of rest while Nadal was forced to play his second round Friday.

?That?s not fair,? he said. ?And today I was playing almost three hours on court, and my opponent was watching the TV in the locker room. So if you [tell] me that?s fair, I say that?s not fair.?

?Because when you know that it?s going to be sunny, it?s fair,? Nadal told Spanish press. ?But when you know it?s going to possibly rain, you cannot make a schedule thinking that one match could be postponed by three hours; that chances are that maybe even the match will not be played.?

Nadal said organizers told him they had to schedule Fognini?s match against Lukas Rosol early because Rosol was in doubles later in the day.

? I am sorry, but that?s a joke,? said Nadal, who was upset by Rosol in the Wimbledon second round last year. ?You have one more week to play doubles if you want to play doubles. Why do you want to protect the player who has to play doubles? So I?m going to write myself on the doubles draw then and I have the priority to play? That?s not the right excuse to make a schedule like this.

?I don?t want to keep talking, because it seems like I am the bad guy saying that, but that?s the real thing, and everybody here knows that?s not right.?

Nadal will play No. 27 Fognini, a quarterfinalist in 2011, on Saturday.

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 5:43 PM


@Conspirator, snap.............

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 5:45 PM


RT @SI_BTBaseline: "Rafael Nadal's t-shirt in press: "Talent Ain't Enough." #RG13 pic.twitter.com/otH9JDRlun"

https://twitter.com/SI_BTBaseline/statu s/340489448762527744/photo/1

Wonder who he had in mind, hehehehe!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 5:51 PM


guys and gals? do you still put your money on rafa to be in the final?

rafaelo , 5/31/13 5:57 PM


^^^PDFFT

Better context here on Rafa's stance...

http://tinyurl.com/n2l8b9m

Shhh...SpoonFed scheduling at work.

#77-1

Conspirator , 5/31/13 6:01 PM


Part of Rafa's presser

http://www.atpworldtour.com/Tennis/Media/Videos/Uploaded/20 13/5/31/Roland-Garros-2013-Friday-Interview-Nadal.aspx

nadline , 5/31/13 6:17 PM


I don't think it's too complicated as to why Rafa didn't play well in this match. Three days off isn't going to help him get his rhythm and timing going. We have seen in the past how players who got walkovers and had an extra day off didn't end up benefiting from it.

The weather was lousy, Rafa was playing a guy he never played before and couldn't find his best game. The point is to get through these early round matches even if it means winning ugly. I don't believe in conspiracy theories, but Rafa was ill-served by the scheduling to say the least.

The Fed fans are so desperate for any good news, that they are practically delirious over their guy beating two qualifiers. Rafa isn't playing bums. This guy Klizan is ranked 35. He hasn't had a very good season, but these guys seem to get inspired when they play Rafa.

It's still too early to think about a possible meeting with Nole in the semis or the final. I believe that Rafa will play himself into his best form as he moves forward. I am supporting him all the way.

I am sorry that isabeau felt the need to leave but this site has changed since she was last here and not for the better.

Nativenewyorker , 5/31/13 6:19 PM


Nadal is still clearly the best and most consistent on clay. I think its not writing the obituary but more coming to terms that Nadal simply isn't as good as he was in previous years and that we will eventually see him decline even more. Its simply that from 2005 to 2008 nadal was God on clay. 81 streak, straight sets demolition of big names at RG. On bad days he'd still straight sets destroy almost anyone.

I think its no different than watching federer fade slowly from the limelight. At first it was hard to believe when federer lost his grand slam SF streak, but then a lot more things happened. He started losing to players he'd never come close to conceding to, he started shanking forehands like crazy. Yes federer came back to no1, congrats to him for that, but he has never seen the dominance of 2004-2007 again.

I think sometimes certain people don't realize this is a fact of life and tennis.

I guess as a fan, its a bit sad to see that Nadal and Federer will never steamroll the field like they used to. There is nothing better than leading the lambs to the slaughter. But at the same time, they have achieved so much that its OK.

DeadManWalking , 5/31/13 6:23 PM


Rafa says he did not have the right intensity and passion because he played his first match on Monday and the 2nd one on Friday so it's like playing 2 1st round matches. What's the point of starting on Sunday if some players don't play their 3rd rnd match until Saturday?

nadline , 5/31/13 6:23 PM


The Frenchie bias has been exposed. As Rafa says, is it not common sense to schedule the women to play later when the forecast is for rain? Women only play best of 3 so they can play 2 days in a row without much consequence......

#ShhGeniusAtWork

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 6:33 PM


At least we now know he wasn't himself.

nadline , 5/31/13 6:38 PM


what's your thoughts on grigor nole? I'm looking forward to it, it could be very intens and even an upset if god loves me >:)

rafaelo , 5/31/13 6:41 PM


Rafa 3rd on Chartier tomm

Novak 4th on Chartier

Again Rafas 4th round opponent Nishikori/Paire 1st on Suzanne.

RG really bad at scheduling. Wimbledon and Australia do it perfect and fair. Both US nd RG suck and are inconsistent

sanju , 5/31/13 6:41 PM


I am not surprised to hear what Rafa said. I mentioned that as one of the factors that caused him problems. I also found myself thinking that this was more like a second first round match. Too many days off between matches. Rafa needs to get into a rhythm and playing every other day allows that to happen. So he essentially had to hit the reset button for this match.

For the first time, I really believe that there is malice behind this scheduling. Rafa rarely speaks out as strongly as he did. They could easily have accommodated him and made sure his match got played before the rain. Their bias is definitely showing!

Nativenewyorker , 5/31/13 6:42 PM


Rafaelo..no chance Grigor pull off an upset. He wont have the stamina to pull it off in best of 5. He may push Nole a bit in 2 sets but Nole should win in 3 or max 4

sanju , 5/31/13 6:45 PM


sanju PDFFT.

sanju, agree with you that USO/FO are the worst in terms of draws/schedule bias.

Wimby/AO have better scheduling fairness.

Looking forward to Fed retiring. Will miss watching him play but tennis draws/scheduling are an embarrassment.

#spoonFed

Conspirator , 5/31/13 6:49 PM


but Grigor was good in his first two matches :| and maybe the adrenalin rush can take him through th match :D I am praying :D

rafaelo , 5/31/13 6:52 PM


Rafa is always at the receiving end of bad scheduling; it won't be the last time I can assure you!

Anyway, back to the match. Its strange that Rafa said that he played too tentatively the first set, but then why he's playing that way and not up his level in the first set? Unable to do so, or unwilling to do so? He's letting all these weather, court conditions, match scheduling and early starts to get to him, i feel. He seems to be easily agitated lately, unlike the Rafa of old who won't let anything affect his mental focus on his match.

I guess he's still finding the right balance between defence/offence, even though he's still winning his matches nonetheless, more because of his prowess on the clay court, not so much his form. He also struggled in the earlier round matches at Barcelona, Madrid and Rome, but managed to play his offensive games each time to win his semifinal and final matches at each tournament. I think Rafa needs time to build up his winning momentum, whether he plays defensively or offensively (I certainly hope he comes out all guns blazing in each match and finishes the job in straight sets asap!).

Rafa in decline? Well, if we compare the current Rafa with that of 2008-2010, then I say yes, in his speed and power, even aggressive mindset. However he has improved his skills in terms of his volleying, slices, lobs and his net approaches. He's still very good, if not he won't be winning Barcelona, Madrid and Rome.

Also, why worry about Nole in the SF, when Nole is also not playing very well here. Nole has his own worries, against players like Dimitrov, and then may be Haas. If Rafa does better match by match, I'm confident he'll get to the final at least.

luckystar , 5/31/13 6:59 PM


TENNIS.com ?@tennis 1h
Federer into the fourth round with a win over mini-nemesis Benneteau: http://ow.ly/lAiyq

I guess that makes Fed a "mini-nemesis" to Rafa.

#KingOfTennis

Conspirator , 5/31/13 7:02 PM


Benneateau was injured. Fed said in his on court interview. He told Pam Shiver that he thought Julian may retire but he hung on

sanju , 5/31/13 7:09 PM


Rafa is a mystery as we speak. We all thought after what we saw in semis n finals of Rome that he has got his mojo, form back..hes back to giving us jitters.

Fabio will give him some rhythm , Benoit can be a tough one, Gasquet should be okay I guess
Lucky. I think Nole does not play Haas till qtrs, his 4th round is Kohls / Isner

sanju , 5/31/13 7:12 PM


So, sanju, knowing that Fed played 2 qualifies and an injured Benneteau, are you surprised Fed appears to be "playing well"?

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 7:14 PM


RITB..lol..

Well I think Tsonga will be Feds 1st real test. Simon/Querrey going 5, so too tired to make a match in 4th round..lol

Tsonga seems to be playing well

sanju , 5/31/13 7:25 PM


@luckystar ; If Rafa gets to the final he will definitely win it . Nole is the ultimate test for Rafa this RG and he meets him in SF. Can't understand that you are saying , he will get to the final at least. Are you aware of the draw?

fedexal , 5/31/13 7:26 PM


If Rafa gets to the final and Fed is on the other side, he will beat Fed no matter what. I know it, whole of TT knows this , even my dog knows that as well.

fedexal , 5/31/13 7:31 PM


^^^ :))))) that's for sure!

rafaelo , 5/31/13 7:33 PM


Vamos Tommy!!!

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 7:33 PM


Ahhh the good old days when banter was banter. Fed starting 1st? Well at least some things never change, no? (sorry for the long test to follow...)

I see Federer is starting his tournament on Monday. I guess this is due to his Monday start the last six years.

#ConspiratorsUSOFacts
Conspirator, 8/26/12 3:42 PM
Poor Nole, what does he have to do to get a Monday start? Better hair maybe?

#2012DefendingChamp
#2011DefendingChampAndNumber1
#GOAT
# Humble
#ConspiratorsUSOfacts
Conspirator, 8/26/12 4:47 PM
predictions - http://www.tennistalk.com/en/blog/Ricky_Dimon/20120826/2012_U.S_Open_p icks:_Federer_vs._Djokovic_
RickyDimon, 8/26/12 5:01 PM
Conspirator why do you make up those pointless hash tags? This isn't twitter, and surely conspiratorsusofacts are about as useful as a punch in the kidneys.

#asshat
willmw101, 8/26/12 10:54 PM
probably because speaking in #hashtags is #awesome
RickyDimon, 8/26/12 11:13 PM
...........and are far more fun to read than the repetitive comments from people who have an axe to grind.

Keep it up Conspirator.
ed251137, 8/27/12 2:59 AM
Conspirator, don't think that fed played on monday in 2008.
fedexal, 8/27/12 5:02 AM
2009: Fed was No. 1, Fed defending champ - Fed plays Day 1, Rafa plays Day 3 (Fed plays his 2nd rnd match on Day 3!!!)
2010: Rafa was No. 1, Delpo defending champ - Fed plays on Day 1, Rafa on Day 2
2011: Nole was No. 1, Rafa was defending champ - Fed plays on Day 1, Rafa and Nole on Day 2
2012: Fed is No. 1, Nole is defending champ - Fed plays on Day 1, Nole plays on day 2 or 3

fedexol, I though I was 'Pig' to you now. Why so friendly to me all of a sudden?

#DoingTheBlushings
#MmmmBacon
#FedPlays1st2009-2012Regard less2009-2012
#13X
Conspirator, 8/27/12 3:02 PM
willmw101, 8/26/12 10:54 PM

haha, you answered your own question.

Thank-you My fan.

#ImitationIsTheBestFormOfFlattery
Conspirator, 8/27/12 3:25 PM

Conspirator , 5/31/13 7:39 PM


Well, when I say Rafa will reach the final at least (meaning that's the least I expect of him should he continue to play well), that will include anyone in his half of the draw, regardless of their rankings.

luckystar , 5/31/13 7:47 PM


Now you have to wear a raincoat before logging onto TT because of all the muck flying around..............

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 7:52 PM


Yes but notice the recent TT "colm" while we've ignored the trolls?

#KeepItUp
#TrustNo1
#PDFFT

Conspirator , 5/31/13 7:54 PM


luckystar your analysis is wrong . The only player who could trouble Rafa is Nole.
Their meeting regardless of the stage they meet in RG is a final for me .
Even if Rafa is on one leg in finals , I expect him to win if he is there .

Don't put up theoretical expectations , put up realistic ones !!

fedexal , 5/31/13 8:02 PM


I fear I am in the throes of permanent paranoia. The "colm" is due to a certain Mallorcan Bull refusing to be gored and marching on to next battle, and a certain "Great Czech Hope" who bailed out rather than face he prospect of being gored himself...............

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:04 PM


Yes but notice the recent TT "colm" while we've ignored the trolls?


Perfect guys, continue to do it. I told you all they will shut up when they get no attention. Let them bark, no one pays attention to barking mad dogs on the street

sanju , 5/31/13 8:09 PM


so many comments suggest 1st set caused quite a stir (again) but nadal will win FO anyways

isfand , 5/31/13 8:09 PM


If Rafa gets to the final and Fed is on the other side, he will beat Fed no matter what. - fedexal

Going by history yes, but the Nole Rafa draining semi could have an impact on the final I feel .

sanju , 5/31/13 8:11 PM


I hope and pray Rafa wins at least 10 RGs and after he retires, never sets foot on RG again. You when past Champions visit during tournaments and/or are invited to award trophies, I hope Rafa snubs them...................

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:22 PM


I hope and pray Rafa wins at least 10 RGs

9 would suffice too to tie Martina as holder of max titles at a slam

sanju , 5/31/13 8:27 PM


@rafaisthebest, 5/31/13 8:22 PM

If Rafa snubs RG you can bet your last dollar that the smug Fed will willingly step in as past champion soaking up all the glory.

nadline , 5/31/13 8:32 PM


Sanju : Do you think Fed will just roll over Ferrer in SF . I think you give too much importance to physical/mental strains suffered in a match , ultimately its the skill which prevails .

fedexal , 5/31/13 8:33 PM


@nadline, well he can make it pointed, like visit Wimby every year and not go to Paris. Tha would be clear, no?

I think they suspect Rafa may be thinking just that, this is why they have gone all out to accommodate Fed with the draw and scheduling this year so that he wins. This way it will not look so odd when they introduce him as a multiple RG winner later on!

#ValidConspiracyTheory

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:37 PM


fedexal, I think skill is both physical and mental.

#Gulbis

Conspirator , 5/31/13 8:38 PM


Good luck Anna in your RG campaign!

RT @TennisReporters: "Ana Ivanovic just told me she agrees with Nadal that men should play before women when there are weather issues cause of 3 out of 5 "

#BeautyWithBrains

rafaisthebest , 5/31/13 8:42 PM


The only way Fed can win is if Nole and Rafa are eliminated before Sunday's exho.

#spoonFed

Conspirator , 5/31/13 8:42 PM


A day's rest is more than enough for either Rafa/Nole to be fresh and ready following a hard fought battle . And BTW Fed has his hands full in QF and SF. So, don't just assume that Fed will be there in SF. If Tsonga is there , Fed will have the most tricky QF among top 4 and noone will be be surprised if Fed loses in QF itself.

Apart from all this I do agree that Rafa's 2nd round scheduling was ludicrous .

fedexal , 5/31/13 8:43 PM


I don't think the French will shed any tears if Tsonga took care of Federer. They would just love to see a Frenchman with the trophy in his hands. The commies were beginning to speculate that Monfils might be the first WC to win a slam since Ivanesevic won Wimbledon in 2001.

nadline , 5/31/13 8:52 PM


The trouble is, Tsonga is not very reliable...........sometimes he's very good at other times he is woeful.

nadline , 5/31/13 8:56 PM


Tsonga hasn't been very good for quite some time.

#spoonFed

Conspirator , 5/31/13 9:25 PM


"The commies were beginning to speculate that Monfils might be the first WC to win a slam since Ivanesevic won Wimbledon in 2001."............................Robredo certianly put an end to that, didnt he?................those commies.................atrotious!!!

Monalysa , 5/31/13 9:33 PM


NADAL doesnot need to win 9 or 10 RGs to prove that he is better than navratilova he is already a bigger great than navratilova

isfand , 5/31/13 10:23 PM


Kudos to the french for snubbing Rafa! They know their tennis, the french. You can win titles but what use is it, if tennis fans and tennis writers refer to you as the beast, brute, monster. 7time champ hated at the place of achievements. Pitiable stuff!

Laver/Borg/Sampras/Federer people's champions. Nole to follow

mcenroe/connors/lendl/nadal a notch below.

JamesDjokovicFan , 5/31/13 10:24 PM



Current ATP-rankings

1. Djokovic 12 500 pts
2. Murray 8 750 pts
3. Federer 8 670 pts
4. Ferrer 6 970 pts
5. Nadal 6 385 pts

Unibet Mobile prematch,live betting

Unibet Mobile betting Unibet Mobile betting

Scan QR code to access Unibet mobile.
Bet on Sports wherever you are and whenever you like, with Unibet's quick and simple mobile client you can place bets, check results and see live odds.
 For more info about QR codes & scanners click here.

ATP Calendar

Date
Tournament

Recommend Tennistalk



Follow us

Follow Tennistalk on Facebook Follow Tennistalk on Twitter

Tell a friend

Your name:

Friend's name:

Friend's email:

Other tennis links