Help

loading...

Article

  • Madrid - Isner and Lopez in round one action

    5/6/13 3:42 AM | Cheryl Murray
    Madrid - Isner and Lopez in round one action Feliciano Lopez and John Isner will take the court on Monday as the first full day of main draw play gets under way.

    John Isner vs. Guillermo Garcia-Lopez

    American John Isner can play on clay -- as long as the tournament is in the United States. Isner won the Houston title over Nicolas Almagro at the start of the season, but he was ousted from Monte Carlo in the first round at the hands of Ernests Gulbis.

    Guillermo Garcia-Lopez's ranking jumped a whopping 21 spots after his run to the final in Bucharest a week ago. He now sits at No. 66 in the world. Garcia-Lopez skipped this past week's events, so he comes into Madrid rested and surely with confidence.

    Prediction - Isner would usually be at a disadvantage to a Spaniard on clay. But the courts in Madrid are historically quick and the ball flies through the air due to the high altitude, all things that are good for Isner's monster serve. The American in 3.

    Feliciano Lopez vs. Daniel Gimino-Traver

    Feliciano Lopez is not a typical Spanish tennis player, in that his game works better on hard courts than it does on clay. The good news for Lopez is that the unique conditions in Madrid, like Isner, suit his game. The world No. 39 has a big serve-forehand combination.

    Daniel Gimino-Traver has had a horrific clay season, without a single win on the dirt since the swing began, including a loss to Tommy Robredo last week in Oireas.

    Lopez is a resident of Madrid and will have the support of the crowd. But he should win this one just based on his opponent's form. Lopez in straight sets.

    Find the latest tennis odds at Unibet.com

Tell a friend »

Comments

Isner can play on foreign DC clay as well. Just ask Federer, Tsonga or Simon.

ts38 , 5/6/13 4:47 AM


Isner can play on clay outside of the US, as pointed out by ts38. His problem is not clay but his knees which have caused him to lose early at several tournaments. And, BTW, wasn't he the guy who took Nadal the King of clay to 5 sets at the FO, a feat few can accomplish?

scoretracker , 5/6/13 5:40 AM


Isner should be able to win this one I think.

tj600 , 5/6/13 6:26 AM


Davis Cup is not a clay tournament. Isner himself has admitted that he doesn't like playing in Europe on clay.

Since 2011, Isner has won 4 matches on European clay in 9 tournaments played. My statement is, sadly, not incorrect.

cherylmurray , 5/6/13 2:12 PM


I'd say Isner in two

Shireling , 5/6/13 4:54 PM


Feli looks good with short hair and a beard ;-)

ed251137 , 5/6/13 5:03 PM


Isner is smoking it out there, appears to be enjoying himself......

rafaisthebest , 5/6/13 6:04 PM


Gasquet is not beating Isner - or even coming close - if he plays like that in R3.

RickyDimon , 5/6/13 6:34 PM


Isner and Raonic were terrific. If they keep up this form, they could cause major damage in Wimbledon.

Fedkovic23 , 5/6/13 11:53 PM


Since madrid moved to clay, madrid winner = wimbledon champ.

Fedkovic23 , 5/6/13 11:56 PM


Isner is the only guy to take the bull to 5 sets in Paris. He is no slouch on clay - US or not. With a serve like that, he will be a threat on any surface, any conditions.

Let's face it except rafa, other spaniards are mental-wusses. they have 1 FO semi-final between them. Isner will have a legit shot against such pansies on any surface/country.

Fedkovic23 , 5/7/13 12:03 AM


With that "logic", one might say the same for all American tennis players since Agassi retired then, no?

#Shhh...TrollAtWork
#HUM8LE

Conspirator , 5/7/13 12:15 AM


Ooooh, looky, looky. Fed is on a pace perilously close to finishing outside the top 10. Poor Fed. He's difficult to beat when he's not playing.

#DancingWithTheStars
#10UMBLE

Conspirator , 5/7/13 1:14 AM


Big John was cooking hot today. I hope he can keep up this form and go deep. at all tournaments for the clay and grass season.

Isner and the other American players get criticized a lot for not playing the clay season, but if we look at the whole picture realistically, it's very tough for them having to be away from home for over 4 months. Not only is it a lot of time away from home and family but it's extremely expensive, made worse by the fact that when they lose early in a tournament, they can't hop on a plane to go home and return for the next tournament like the Europeans do. They have to hang around waiting for the next tournament.

scoretracker , 5/7/13 7:46 AM


^^^Thanks. That explains why Americans have been "mental wusses" since Andre Agassi. This is Fedkovic23's (not mine) characterisation of players who have a dismal record of making the semis at FO.

rafaisthebest , 5/7/13 8:13 AM




Ooooh, looky, looky. Fed is on a pace perilously close to finishing outside the top 10. Poor Fed. He's difficult to beat when he's not playing.

#DancingWithTheStars
#10UMBLE

Conspirator , 5/7/13 1:14 AM

Explains the quite hysterical Rafa-bashing on these boards lately.

#Projecting

rafaisthebest , 5/7/13 8:29 AM


It's nice that we have to get the same story about why the American players don't do well on clay. It's the same retread we heard when the clay season started. As though they have such a hardship being away from home for a few months. They are professional tennis players! They know what is required and should be used to periods of time away from home. It's the price for being in this sport. At different times, players from all countries have to endure the same thing.

Andre Agassi didn't have any problem being away from home. I don't think that has anything whatsoever to do with the poor results Americans have had in recent years on clay. Maybe if they played more on the clay, then they would have better results.

ritb,

You really think that Fed being so far behind in the race to London is the reason why there has been a sudden uptick in these hysterical, venomous posts? That's interesting.

Nativenewyorker , 5/7/13 8:47 AM


Well I can't speak for anybody but myself but I'm not about to panic. Fed has only played 4 tournaments this year going into Madrid. His race to London rank is akin to Nadal's drop in the rankings when he wasn't playing. You can't earn too many points if you don't play. Besides it's inevitable that one day Fed will get 'old' in the tennis sense. That's life.

chr18 , 5/7/13 12:17 PM


^^^So good to hear you accept the inevitable, chr18, Fed's days are indeed numbered. But hey, he's had a good innings......

rafaisthebest , 5/7/13 2:03 PM


So your point is spain is a greater tennis nation than USA? LOL! I don't think even the spannish are deluded like the nadal grannies!

Whatever Isner is, he is not a choker like the Spanish Armada. Except Nadal and santana, these guys are the equivalent of dogpoo outside clay. This is over 100+ years of tennis history, not any timeline that has been carefully handpicked by some stat-challenged people.

US has more than 10 other sports that the country/people prefer over Tennis. The demise of tennis in US is the main reason why even the greatest tennis icon of all time, Federer makes less money than athletes in golf, basketball, baseball, american football.

In the events like olympics you can see where Spain and USA stand in the sports hierarchy. Is there any olympics where Spain won more medals than the US? I doubt it.

If the US cared so much for tennis, the courts would not be slowed down as much as they have been to help poor countries like spain get a good hold on tennis. I hope I don't have to explain that the US is a richer nation than spain to the nadal grannies!

chr18:

Fed's getting old, but so are the other players. How long do you think nadal is going to last before the inevitable confinement to the wheelchair like philippoussis?

Here's an interesting trivia : Since reaching the top 2, nadal has plummeted to no.3/no.4 or no.5 before fed did. I am not so sure Fed will go out of the top 10 before nadal does. I mean look at it now - nadal no.5? Fed has not fallen outside top 4 since about 10 years! I don't know if any player has been in top 4 for 10consecutive years. Fed is on track to do it.

Fedkovic23 , 5/7/13 2:23 PM


ritb,

You really think that Fed being so far behind in the race to London is the reason why there has been a sudden uptick in these hysterical, venomous posts? That's interesting.

Nativenewyorker , 5/7/13 8:47 AM

That together with the realisation that Fed's decline in terminal, he will never overhaul that pesky H2H. The naked hysteria will ratchet up a notch with each Rafa success, we have to grin and bear it I am afraid.

It's the sudden latching onto Nole's coattails that I find mildly embarrassing, but that is just me, price of having a conscience I guess......

rafaisthebest , 5/7/13 2:23 PM


Scoretracker,

Clay is a surface for the mediocre. You look at most legends like Sampras/Becker/Mcenroe/Laver/Connors and they will tell you in a heart beat that Wimbledon/USopen/Australian open [for Laver] are more important than RG. Sampras won 0 FO but was wildly accepted as the Greatest tennis player before Fed dethroned him. If Djokovic wins more slams than nadal and has 0 FO titles, he will still be considered a greater player than nadal. Nadal's fans can hold their hands and keep singing kumbaya and convincing themselves that nadal has winning h2h against djokovic/federer, but it is ultimately slams and year end championships and weeks at no.1. I am almost certain Fedkovic will end their careers with top 2 positions in all those 3 categories.

Fedkovic23 , 5/7/13 2:31 PM


but it is ultimately slams and year end championships and weeks at no.1. I am almost certain Fedkovic will end their careers with top 2 positions in all those 3 categories.

Fedkovic23 , 5/7/13 2:31 PM

And getting your girlfriend pregnant before you marry her, please don't forget to add that to the heap of GOATdom requirements.

rafaisthebest , 5/7/13 2:42 PM


how about crying like a pansy in a press conference when you have cramps? is that considered for only clay GOAT dom? and choking on a banana! LOL! youtube it.

Fedkovic23 , 5/7/13 3:08 PM


I am sure you have a GOAT requirement list, and of course Rafa will never ever qualify.......

#Yoda

rafaisthebest , 5/7/13 3:32 PM


"Clay is a surface for the mediocre."

Well, sure, occasionally it is like in 2009 when the Punchbag managed a win without having to face his Daddy.

"crying like a pansy"

Ooooh, yet another "homophobe" in the room. You and chr19 have so much in common. You know, many homophobes are just in the closet. Explains chr19 and your fascination with Rafa's butt.

#MediocreFrench
#TooFunny

Conspirator , 5/7/13 3:39 PM


Yes, clay is such a mediocre surface these anti-Rafa characters have been falling over each other declaring Djokovic the new King of said mediocre surface, Clay.........and salivating at the prospect of him beating Rafa at the high temple of surface mediocrity, RG

#Conflicted

rafaisthebest , 5/7/13 3:44 PM


Conspirator,
.. not that you need it but, unless you enjoy the fray, I'd advise you to not cross swords with this individual. Apart from some entertainment, what can you gain?

Shireling , 5/7/13 3:47 PM


Shhhh...Troll hunting at work.

#ClaySeason

Conspirator , 5/7/13 4:06 PM


lol,
btw, did you see Troll Hunter? (nice Norwegian movie)

Shireling , 5/7/13 4:19 PM


Sounds like I'd enjoy it.

#PunchbagSeasonIsHere

Conspirator , 5/7/13 4:34 PM



Current ATP-rankings

1. Djokovic 12 500 pts
2. Murray 8 750 pts
3. Federer 8 670 pts
4. Ferrer 6 970 pts
5. Nadal 6 385 pts

Unibet Mobile prematch,live betting

Unibet Mobile betting Unibet Mobile betting

Scan QR code to access Unibet mobile.
Bet on Sports wherever you are and whenever you like, with Unibet's quick and simple mobile client you can place bets, check results and see live odds.
 For more info about QR codes & scanners click here.

ATP Calendar

Date
Tournament

Recommend Tennistalk



Follow us

Follow Tennistalk on Facebook Follow Tennistalk on Twitter

Tell a friend

Your name:

Friend's name:

Friend's email:

Other tennis links