Help

loading...

Article

  • Djokovic battles Isner in Davis Cup opener

    4/4/13 8:29 PM | Ricky Dimon
    Djokovic battles Isner in Davis Cup opener Novak Djokovic is going up against John Isner on the first day of Davis Cup action between Serbia and the United States. They will contest Friday's opening singles rubber.

    Novak Djokovic and John Isner will be squaring off for the fourth time in their careers when they collide in the first Davis Cup rubber between Serbia and the United States on Friday afternoon in Boise, Idaho.

    Djokovic leads the head-to-head series 2-1, including 1-0 in the team event. They faced each other during round one of the 2010 Davis Cup on clay in Serbia, where Djokovic survived 7-5, 3-6, 6-3, 6-7(6), 6-4. Since then they have split a pair of hard-court showdowns; Djokovic prevailed 7-6(1), 6-2 three years ago in Beijing before Isner scored a 7-6(7), 3-6, 7-6(5) upset in the 2012 Indian Wells semifinals.

    Isner was positively on fire when he stunned Djokovic last season, a win that came amidst a stretch that also included Davis Cup victories over Roger Federer, Gilles Simon, and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga. Now, however, the 6'9'' American is in dreadful form. Isner is struggling down at No. 23 in the world and he is a mere 7-7 for the season after compiling a combined 1-2 record in Indian Wells and Miami.

    Djokovic is looking to bounce back from a surprising straight-set loss to Tommy Haas in the Miami fourth round. The world No. 1 also fell to Juan Martin Del Potro in the Indian Wells semifinals, but he is still 19-2 for the year with titles at the Australian Open and in Dubai.

    If Isner has anything going for him, it's that he is playing this rubber at home on a hard court and he generally thrives on the big stages (including in Davis Cup). He is 8-6 lifetime for the USA and five of his losses have come on clay. That being said, his lone hard-court loss came to a slumping Thomaz Bellucci two months ago in Jacksonville--which suggests that he can't emerge from this slump even with the fate of his team on the line.

    Look for Djokovic to take care of Isner in straight sets.

    Find the latest tennis odds at Unibet.com

Tell a friend »

Comments

Hate to say it, but I agree w/Rick on this sad prediction: Joker too tough and Isner not at his best.

scoot , 4/5/13 3:05 AM


I didn't see this thread and commented on the other thread, which makes my comment moot, as I thught it was Djokovic/Querrey up first.

I agree with Ricky, Isner is just a shadow of his previous form when he last played Djokovic. Am hoping for a miracle for the US. Go USA.

scoretracker , 4/5/13 3:25 AM


Speaking of moot...

#HUM8LE

Conspirator , 4/5/13 4:27 AM


My lips are sealed. I will remain mute.

ed251137 , 4/5/13 5:01 AM


I hate to say it but I think Isner has no shot in this. IMO it all comes down to Serb's #2 man and if Querrey and Isner can both take him down. Thankfully he's been playing horribly himself for a while. I don't expect the Bryans to lose again.
And the fact that you left any comment at all shows you have clearly not remained mute. Do you see the conundrum you've created for yourself edna?

ts38 , 4/5/13 5:37 AM


Oh no, all the threads on Andy not liking bananas, Lendl making Banoffi pie, Dani using banana face mask, etc etc have gone...
#AllTooBrief
#BackToTennisTalk
#SulkingNow

deuce , 4/5/13 7:52 AM


But Andy has won his record-breaking 7th headline...........................

#ShowMeTheMoney

ed251137 , 4/6/13 9:14 AM


Bravo!!! So the mighty twins are dawn... Congrats to Zimonjic and Bozoljac for bringing victory to Serbia!!! 15:13 in fifth set... what a thriller !!!!

zare , 4/7/13 1:43 AM


zare,

Nice to see you back here! I have been trying to find out the score in the doubles match. I knew that it went to a fifth set, but had no idea it went that long. I wasn't home to try and catch it on the tennis channel, but hopefully they will replay it.

I would really like to see this match! It sounds like quite the battle. I would have liked to see the Bryan Bros. get the win for the US, but all credit to Serbia for this hard fought victory.

Nativenewyorker , 4/7/13 2:57 AM


NNY,
it was really a nail biting, epic match. A point here and there made all the difference. The commentator was joking: "I thought it would be tighter" :) because there is no way anything in this sport could have been this tight. Kudos to both teams for excellent play. Way to go Nenad and Ilija!!! :)

danica , 4/7/13 3:07 AM


tnx NNY... :)

zare , 4/7/13 3:22 AM



Current ATP-rankings

1. Djokovic 12 500 pts
2. Murray 8 750 pts
3. Federer 8 670 pts
4. Ferrer 6 970 pts
5. Nadal 6 385 pts

Unibet Mobile prematch,live betting

Unibet Mobile betting Unibet Mobile betting

Scan QR code to access Unibet mobile.
Bet on Sports wherever you are and whenever you like, with Unibet's quick and simple mobile client you can place bets, check results and see live odds.
 For more info about QR codes & scanners click here.

ATP Calendar

Date
Tournament
29 Sep
Beijing

China, China

29 Sep
Tokyo

Japan, Japan

05 Oct
Shanghai

China, China

13 Oct
Vienna

Austria, Austria

Recommend Tennistalk



Follow us

Follow Tennistalk on Facebook Follow Tennistalk on Twitter

Tell a friend

Your name:

Friend's name:

Friend's email:

Other tennis links